fifa world cup logo

fifa worldcup logoa

Welcome toFifa World Cup

Some people think football is a matter of life and death. I assure you, it's much more serious than that
Bill Shankly

Slider 01 Slider 02 Slider 03 Slider 04





The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be the 20th FIFA World Cup, an international men's football tournament that is scheduled to take place in Brazil from 12 June to 13 July 2014.It will be the second time that Brazil has hosted the competition, the previous being in FIFA World Cup. Brazil was elected unchallenged as host nation in 2007 after the international football federation, FIFA, decreed that the tournament would be staged in South America for the first time since FIFA World Cup">1978 in Argentina, and the fifth time overall.

A total of 64 matches are to be played in twelve cities across Brazil in either new or redeveloped stadiums, with the tournament beginning with a group stage. For the first time at a World Cup Finals, the matches will use goal-line technology.

With the host country, all world champion teams since the first World Cup in 1930 (Uruguay, Italy, Germany, England, Argentina, France and Spain) have qualified for this competition. The previous four World Cups staged in South America were all won by South American teams.


Eighteen locations were presented as potential World Cup host cities: Belém, Belo Horizonte, Brasília, Campo Grande, Cuiabá, Curitiba, Florianópolis, Fortaleza, Goiânia, Maceió, Manaus, Natal, Porto Alegre, Recife, Rio Branco, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador and São Paulo.

FIFA proposes that no more than one city may use two stadiums, and the number of host cities is limited between eight and ten. The proposal of Ricardo Teixeira, the then-Head of the Brazilian Football Confederation, to use twelve host cities in "the interest of the whole country" was however accepted by FIFA in December 2008.

A reported US$3.47 billion has been spent on stadium projects. Five of the chosen host cities have brand new venues built specifically for the World Cup, while the Estádio Nacional Mané Garrincha in the capital Brasilia was demolished and rebuilt, and the remaining six are being extensively renovated The Estádio do Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro, which already holds the record attendance for a FIFA World Cup Finals match (199,854), is the largest of the stadiums and will stage the final.


fifa world cup stadium
worldcup football brazil
fifa world cup football stadiums
worldcup football venues
fifa stadiums 14
fifa brazil stadiums
fifa worldcup stadiums
fifa football stadium porto
fifa worldcup stadium
stadium fifa worldcup
fifa worldcup 14 stadiums
fifaworldcup brazil stadiums